Rate This Thread
Hop To
#1722750 - 09/06/06 10:41 AM Some minor ground object tweaks  
PV1 Offline
sometime mudslinger
PV1  Offline
sometime mudslinger

Ladner, Wet Coast, Canada
These aren't new, I've posted them before on the Shockwave site, rather haphazardly, but it seemd like a good idea to gather them together in one post which is easy to find. They also are not scintillating works of brilliance, as I am not a skinner by trade, but I think they improve the look of these objects, which seemed rather drab and monochrome before. (Perhaps they will inspire someone to do a better job, and/or some more. For instance the civilian car could really do with a better skin.) The new files all go in the IMAGEMAP folder. Unzip as required. As always, back up your stock files before dropping in the new ones...

First, the trawler. I livened up the colour on the deck and the stack. The stack is shared by the collier, so it also gets a bit of zip via ricochet...

The stock object:

The new paintjob:

The file is here: http://www3.telus.net/v1ncent/bob/COLIER.zip .

Next, the London bus. The model is still exceedingly primitive, but I can't change that, and it keeps the framerate hit minimal, anyway.

I don't have an image to hand of the stock object, but it is different brightnesses of one shade of red, plus shades of grey, just as the stock trawler is one shade of brown plus grey. Anyway, here is the new paintjob, in this case courtesy of the bus enthusiast Ian Smith, from whose website http://freespace.virgin.net/ian.smith/buses/index.htm#stop I borrowed the paint scheme, and warped and abused it to fit over the Rowan model(it seems Rowan modelled a postwar 8ft wide bus, and the period STL bus had to be stretched a bit to fit, plus of course being greatly simplified to cover a simple box shape)

The file is here: http://www3.telus.net/v1ncent/bob/LBUS.pcx It was so small it didn't need zipping.