Print Thread
Rate This Thread
Hop To
#2231243 - 06/09/07 06:45 AM Getting the best from BoB 2  
Tommo Offline
Tommo  Offline

Northampton, England
Hello all

Ok so I've just purchased 2.06 and installed. I have set most of the graphics options fairly high but my framerates are pretty poor-single figures when there is any sort of action going on. I assumed that I would be able to run this sim ok on my pc (see specs in my signature). I am a 4 year veteran of IL2/FB and can run that either on 'perfect' or 'excellent' (which I actually prefer). So, is there a good on line guide to getting the best performance, or can someone suggest some basic settings which make a big difference? I really want to get in to this sim this time around so any advice would be gratefully received.

Many thanks

Tommo

'You can teach.....monkeys to fly better than that!'

P4 3Ghz
ASRock P4i65G Motherboard
2 gig PC3200 400MHz DDR D/C RAM
GeForce 6800GT 512mb
Cambridge 4.1 speakers
Saitek X52 throttle, joystick and rudder pedals
Windows XP Pro
Inline advert (2nd and 3rd post)

#2231250 - 06/09/07 07:06 AM Re: Getting the best from BoB 2 [Re: Tommo]  
kadiir Offline
kadiir  Offline

One setting I recall being an issue is Particle Density - make sure it is no higher than medium otherwise you will run very slowly.

#2231279 - 06/09/07 09:35 AM Re: Getting the best from BoB 2 [Re: Tommo]  
SeaVee Offline
SeaVee  Offline

Miami, Florida USA
Hi Tommo and welcome to BoB2.

Yes, as Kadiir says absolutely do not set Particle Density above Medium, even with a very strong PC system. The PD engine was designed - even for very strong PCs of today - at medium and set above that you can have serious FPS hits in busy explosion scenarios, it also looks great at medium.